Pure White Backgrounds

Just when you think you’ve got something figured out, you figure out that you don’t know as much as you think you did.

I’ve been taking and selling stock photos through Dreamstime for about a year and a half or so; and I thought I was getting the hang of the pure white background that is so desirable to the buyers.

Then I washed my background. Ugh! Now it does not seem to be as white as it once was, the “fuzzy” side seems to me a little more fuzzy, and the slick side seems to create more reflections.

So now back to some basics to relearn how to get that nice white background.

Here’s one of my recent shots, the best of many (not yet reviewed by DT as of the time I typed this post). I doubt that you can tell with the image posted on the black page but take my word for it if you put this on a white page, the background isn’t purely white. The jelly beans seem to have cast a pinkish tint to the background. I had to do a lot of work after the fact to get it this white. I guess it’s not that horrible now but boy did I fade out the colors!

So here’s a few things I know about getting the pure white background:

  • Shoot with lots of natural daylight or bulbs that reproduce that light.
  • Shoot in RAW.
  • Use a tripod and release cable or even a timer.
  • Use a slower shutter speed to let in lots of light.
  • and if needed adjust your exposure and contrast on the RAW file.

Now anyone else out there got any tips on that ever elusive pure white background? I could sure use them!

2 thoughts on “Pure White Backgrounds”

  1. I need to work on looking at things differently and doing studio shots. Been out in the wild for so long…. I enjoyed reviewing your images… gave me an idea of what I need to do.

  2. Thanks Barbara,
    I seem to have the other problem. I need to get out more.
    You have a lot of beautiful images I wouldn’t change a thing!!
    Karen

Leave a Reply

