A Random Thought About Kansas Weather

So I’m sitting on the patio in the 65 degree weather working on the laptop while supper cooks on the grill and it hits me; it’s November 1st and I’m sitting on the patio in the 65 degree weather working on the laptop while supper cooks on the grill. I’ll take that; I’ll take a few more of these beautiful fall days before the snow flies. I can hear the highschool marching band as they play the school fight song on their way to what could be the last game of the season, I can hear the birds chirping at my little feeders, and I can hear the tenderloin sizzling away. There’s the smell of fall in the air as leaves tumble-down and the wonderful smell of that tenderloin, those roasting onions, and those delicious baked potatoes; all on my new grill. (a gift from my siblings for our 25th anniversary earlier this summer.)

Ahhh but this is Kansas and the weather will soon change. The weather man says that in just a few hours a cold front will be moving in. We are sure to get a cold rain tonight while the temperatures drop to freezing and that rain may turn to snow tomorrow. Not a good thing as D has a long drive very early Thursday morning to see his Dad who will be in the hospital for surgery.

But it is Kansas and the weather does change quickly; it’s suppose to be warm again by Thursday afternoon. I do hope that the real snow and iced stay away until after Thanksgiving; after K and L are safely back on campus to finish up the semester. Then it can calm down again in time for their drive home for Christmas.

Holy cow! It is time to think about Christmas isn’t it. That’s hard to believe as I sit on the patio in the 65 degree weather working on the laptop while supper cooks on the grill.

Happy Fall Ya All!

fall / autumn stock photos available at Dreamstime.com
Leave a Reply

