The Meanest Mother

~ from The Meanest Mother In The World by Bobbie Pingaro 1967

I had the meanest mother in the whole world. While other kids ate candy for breakfast, I had to have cereal, eggs or toast.  When others had cokes and candy for lunch, I had to eat a sandwich… My mother insisted upon knowing where we were at all times. You’d think we were on a chain gang. She had to know who our friends were and where we were going…  I am nearly ashamed to admit it, but she actually struck us. Not once, but each time we had a mind of our own and did as we pleased…  We had to wear clean clothes and take a bath… We reached the height of insults because she made our clothes herself, just to save money… She made us work. We had to wash dishes, make beds, learn to cook and all sorts of cruel things. I believe she laid awake at night thinking up mean things to do to us… My mother was a complete failure as a mother… Look at the things we missed. We never got to march in a protest parade, nor to take part in a riot, burn draft cards, and a million and one other things that our friends did. She forced us to grow up into God-fearing, educated, honest adults… Using this as a background, I am trying to raise my children.  I stand a little taller and I am filled with pride when my children call me mean.  Because, you see, I thank God, He gave me the meanest mother in the whole world.

Happy Mother’s Day to all those “mean Mother’s” out there. May your children learn all you have to teach.

One thought on “The Meanest Mother”

  1. Enjoyed your mean take on your mother. Because as you suggest, her meanness caused you to grow up to be who you are. And she did all she did out of a great love for you. Enjoy your day today. From another mean mom!

Leave a Reply

