Photo Challenge – How Does Your Garden Grow? – August 2012

It has been a while since we took a look at my little container garden so I think you will be pleased to hear that several plants have survived the heat. Yes it’s a much smaller collection of containers than it was in the spring but it is still growing and some are even still blooming!

I spent some time yesterday cutting back the dead, dried up, crispy, brown bits and it looks much better today. I’ve removed a few more pots and rearranged again. I think soon I might try to pick up a few fall flowers to tuck in there.

The African Daisies went through a rough time with the heat but they seem to be holding on and even have a couple of buds. I think if they can make it just a little while longer they will come back nicely this fall.

It’s kind of funny… the new little garden mums I picked up this year have long since dried up and blown away while the old mum from 2011 has grown back nicely. I think it might just bloom before the fall is gone.

The tiny Lavender Lady, the Coreopsis, and the little Carnations have perked up some after having all the brown leaves trimmed away and getting a  nice rain the other day. They might just hang in there a while longer.

The poor Dusty Miller hasn’t grown much at all. *note to self: put dusty miller in a much bigger pot next time. The Geraniums that I thought would grow through anything are just barely hanging on and have not grown much at all. I’m thinking they might just like a larger pot next time too.

The Pentas plant is very happy in its spot near the bush. Although not blooming as much right now it is still blooming and growing nicely there in the shade.

And those Portulacas are thriving in the heat! Tons of little blooms everyday; they seem to thrive on neglect too and looked great when I got home from my last trip.

 

All in all I’d say it’s been a fairly successful little container garden this year (especially for my first real attempt at it) and Im already finding lots of great ideas for next spring! Check out my Pnterest page if you’d like to see some of the fun ideas I’ve found and am thinking about trying out there sometime. 😀

 

4 thoughts on “Photo Challenge – How Does Your Garden Grow? – August 2012”

  1. Your garden and flowers look beautiful! You should be very proud of whatever you got to bloom and grow this season. Your weather was absolutely dreadful and it’s a wonder anything survived. Really. You did very well.

Leave a Reply

