My Mother’s Sister

Aunt V 2011My Mother’s Sister taught me many important things when I was growing up; it was kind of like having a second Mother who lived on the other end of town.

I remember walking across town and down that old dirt road to get to her house many, many, many times over the years. Probably many, many, many times every week!

When I’d get there I would learn important things like…

homegrown tomatoes taste best when eaten while you are still standing in the garden beside the plant that you just picked it off of…

homemade sandhill plum jelly is better than anything you can buy at the store…

there is always room for one more person at the table…

no one can make goulash as good as she could…

when it was hot hot hot in the summertime the old window air conditioner, with the garden hose hooked up to it, kept her kitchen nice and cool…

her livingroom was the warmest place in town when the snow was blowing outdoors…

I learned that green beans taste better with bacon…

she even taught me how to take care of critters and told me it was ok to ride on the pony but not after I got so tall that my feet drug on the ground.

and…

I learned that she would do just about anything to take care of you; and she did…

she was raised in the depression and helped to take care of my Mother after their Mother died, then she raised her own family while helping my Mother with her 8 kids, then she raised a handful of her grandchildren, and then she helped to take care of some of her great-grandchildren…

she took care of the seniors in our little town by working at the nursing home for many many years; she let me help sort the medications and hand them out a few times when I was little. I’m sure she wasn’t supposed to do that but…

she always did things her own way.

She taught me that…

when you get the chicken pox, and the teacher sends you home from school, that you barely have enough time to walk home before she shows up to take you to her house…

that when the other kids make fun of you she will be there to whip them into shape…

people are more important than stuff….

and that there are other things in life more important than running the vacuum but you better do it anyway just incase someone stops by.

I learned that you have to be strong and keep on going no matter what kind of junk life throws at you… and she did.

She was one of the most awesome, strongest, loving people I ever knew.

She always had good things to say about any photo I showed her and wanted me to take a picture of an ant on the sidewalk.

I haven’t accomplished that yet; maybe when I am able to upgrade my equipment I’ll be able to do that for her.

My Mother’s Sister passed away last night.

She is no longer in pain and I just know that she has already found Uncle M and is up there bossing him around even as I type.

I will miss my Aunt V. She taught me so many important things.

5 thoughts on “My Mother’s Sister”

  1. This post really touched my heart. She was my great grandma and I miss her so much already. She really had an amazing personality and always had an open door for anyone. Thank you for this wonderful story on how she impacted your life!

Leave a Reply

