Is There A Doctor In The House? My Camera Is Sick!

2009
2009

2009
ISO 400 – f/5.6 – 1/400 – 300mm
shot through a dirty plexiglass

I purchased my little Canon XTi way back in 2008. If I remember correctly it was in May.

Here we are almost 5 years later and I’m still shooting with the same camera.

But sadly… today… I have finally come to the conclusion that my little camera is sick.

Over the last several months the image quality has been going downhill. First I started to see extra noise creeping in, even at very low ISOs and in bright light. Then I started to see the focus becoming less and less sharp.

I woke up our old friend Google and ask him a few questions about DSLRs losing image quality. I thought maybe it was just me.

Maybe I’m losing it.

But what Google told me confirmed my fears. It’s not me who is losing it.

It’s my poor little camera.

I found that DSLRs can and do wear out.

Simple things like heat (such as good old hot Kansas summers) and even excessive use, which causes the internal workings to heat up, (such as working the poor thing day after day after day for 5 years) can cause any electronic device to experience wear.

In digital cameras worn-out moving parts can lead to the sensor moving off its original position, which can lead to out of focus, blurry, and even distorted images.

Yep; I think my little old camera is very sick….

2013
2013

2013
ISO 200 – f/7.1 – 1/400 – 190mm
shot through a dirty plexiglass window

is there a doctor in the house????

Oh; what to do now. 😦

5 thoughts on “Is There A Doctor In The House? My Camera Is Sick!”

  1. I bought a camera from a photographer on Craig’s List (Canon) and then decided to upgrade to a newer one. I was able to sell my old one (along with some others) on UsedCameras.com– it was a lot easier than trying to sell to a private party.

    If there is a camera shop around, you may want to take it in to see if they can do anything to help. Best of luck! I know it is not fun and that is why I got rid of mine.

  2. Oh no don’t tell me that.. I’ve taken nearly 12000 photos with this camera… they wear out.?? I love my camera but have started seeing some of the photos are not what they used to be… will have to watch it..

Leave a Reply

