Happy Pancake Day!

So I saw on Facebook this morning that today is National Pancake Day.

I had no idea.

pancakes

It seems that the IHOP restaurant chain began “its National Pancake Day celebration in 2006 and has raised more than $10 million to support charities in the communities in which it operates”.

And I hear that today you can get “a free short stack of Buttermilk pancakes; at participating IHOP restaurants . In return you will be asked to consider leaving a donation for Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals or other designated local charities.”

Sounds like a good deal to me! But sadly I do not have an IHOP near by. 😦

I do not think that I have ever heard of National Pancake Day before, or if I have I’ve forgotten all about it,  so I woke up Wikipedia and asked him about it. It turns out that “traditionally pancakes are associated with the day preceding Lent because they were a way to use up rich foods such as eggs, milk, and sugar, before the fasting season of the 40 days of Lent.”

I never knew that.

You learn something new everyday!

Now; living in Kansas most of my life I have heard of the pancake race in Liberal but really never knew anything about it before so I read a little about that this morning too. “The tradition is said to have originated when a housewife from Olney was so busy making pancakes that she forgot the time until she heard the church bells ringing for the service. She raced out of the house to church while still carrying her frying pan and pancake. The most famous pancake race, at Olney in Buckinghamshire, has been held since 1445. The contestants, traditionally women, carry a frying pan and race to over a 415 yard course to the finishing line. The rules are strict: contestants have to toss their pancake at both the start and the finish, as well as wear an apron and a scarf. Traditionally, when men want to participate, they must dress up as a housewife (usually an apron and a bandanna). The race is followed by a church service. Since 1950 the people of Liberal, Kansas, and Olney have held the “International Pancake Day” race between the two towns. The two towns’ competitors race along an agreed-upon measured course. The times of the two towns’ competitors are compared, to determine a winner overall. After the 2009 race, Liberal was leading with 34 wins to Olney’s 25.”

Go Liberal Go!!

Now there is one thing about pancakes that I remember from years ago;
a little pancake poem…

Mix a Pancake
~author: Christina G. Rossetti – 1830-1894)

Mix a pancake,
Stir a pancake,
Pop it in the pan;
Fry the pancake;
Toss the pancake,
Catch it if you can.
…and I also know that pancakes are tasty. 🙂
HAPPY PANCAKE DAY EVERYONE!!
***************
This pancake photo and many other images from the public galleries over at KKHPhotos.com are available as prints in a wide assortment of sizes, canvas gallery wraps, standout displays,  fotoflōts, photo greeting cards, and postage stamps. They are also available in a wide range of gift items; aluminum bookmarks, coasters, tempered glass cutting boards, keychains, magnets, mousepads, and much more! You can even do your own thing with my photos when you purchase them as digital download stock photos for personal or web use.

Let Zenfolio host your photos. Use referral code CV6-ZGB-B5M to save 10%.

Follow me!~Facebook.com/KKHPhotos ~Twitter.com/KKHPhotos ~Pinterest.com/KKHPhotos

One thought on “Happy Pancake Day!”

  1. Oh I do love pancakes .. and when we visited the USA I ordered a plate full or stack I think the named it… when they came I smiled from ear to ear… it looked just like that picture… needless to say I ordered a second stack…

Leave a Reply

