Creating A Rainbow Daisy With PSE 5.0

Earlier this week I dug out an old photo of a yellow daisy and had a little fun with it!PSE5screenshot1

I thought “I wonder what this daisy would look like if it were rainbow-colored?”.

So I colored it!

First I simply selected a few petals for each color using the lasso tool and copied them to new layers; one layer for each color.

Then I played with the hue/saturation tool on each of these layers to change the color of the petals from their original yellow to shades of red, orange, green, blue, and purple. I left the layer for the yellow petals alone; except for to remove the background from it.

PSE5screenshot2I painted over the original background layer with a nice dark black to make the colors pop.

Once I was happy with the way it was looking I flattened the image. You  might want to play a bit with the blending mode of each layer for a new look but for this image it really wasn’t necessary.

I then copied the flattened image to two more layers; on the first one I added the sponge filter while on the top layer I added the water-color filter.

Now you could stop here but when have you ever known me to leave well enough alone?

I went on to play with the blending modes on these “painted” layers and then finally played with the lighting effects to finish it off.PSE5screenshot3

It really did go just about that fast!

Rainbow Daisy

and now I have a fun new springtime image for KKHPhotos.com and I’m sure it will appear on more than a few Zazzle products as well.

What kind of fun digital art have you created lately?? Please share in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Creating A Rainbow Daisy With PSE 5.0”

Leave a Reply

