An Anniversary, A Doll, And Another New Old Camera

I do hope everyone had a great time over the 4th. So sorry for my vanishing act these past few days. Sometimes you just got to step away from the computer and do something else. Plus I seem to have a terrible case of motivationlacktus right now. [You didn’t know I was a word smith did ya!] I think it comes from this dull ol’ headache that I just can’t seem to shake; maybe I need a good dose of caffeine.

While D was off work for the long weekend we made the 70 mile drive for a little shopping and an anniversary lunch at my favorite Mexican restaurant.

Yep; 27 years. That’s a long time folks!

We also did an anniversary supper at Pizza Hut; after all that is where we ended up for supper 27 years ago on that same date.

We do such goofy gifts around here.

I crocheted D a character from one of his favorite TV shows; The Big Bang Theory. I made him a Sheldon Cooper doll from a pattern I found at A[mi]dorable Crochet. I have since finished the Amy Farrah Fowler doll to go with it and have plans to try and make the whole cast! I’ll try and remember to get a good picture of them one of these days soon.

Along the drive on our anniversary we stopped at one of my favorite shops. A little dusty, crowded, cluttered, and hot thrift shop whose best salesman is the most adorable labradoodle.

In the way back parts of the shop, sitting on the dirty floor,  D found a big ol’ dusty box filled with 35mm SLRs and another box of lenses. None of them looked like they had been very well taken care of but I picked out two to bring home for my collection.  That was my goofy anniversary gift. 😀

One of them is a Vivitar, that I have not looked for information about yet, and the other is a Pentax K1000 from somewhere between 1990 and 1997; with a SMC Pentax-A 50 mm f/2 lens.

Not a bad $5 purchase as it seems that both of these are still fully functional. I just may have to pick up a roll or two of that stuff… what was it called?… Oh, yes; film.

teddy bear with camera

 

I did a quick search on the net to see what I could find out about this Pentax and here’s a rundown of what I found:

  • The Pentax K1000 was originally marked the Asahi Pentax K1000
  • It is an interchangeable lens, 35 mm film, single-lens reflex camera, manufactured by Asahi Optical Co., Ltd. from 1975 to 1997, originally in Japan.
  • It uses a horizontal travel, rubberized silk cloth focal plane shutter with a speed range of 1/1000 second to 1 second, along with Bulb and a flash X-sync of 1/60 second.
  • The introductory US list price for the K1000 body with SMC Pentax 55 mm f/2 lens was $299.50. In 1988 they sold for $290 with SMC Pentax-A 50 mm f/2 lens. In 1994 the body was priced at $315 and remained there until it was discontinued.
  • Batteries are only required for the TTL metering system and the camera is always on and always ready to shoot.
  • Completely manual; nothing automatic about this one and no program modes. You even have to advance the film and rewind yourself. Remember doing that?
  • Production of the largely hand assembled camera was moved from Japan to Hong Kong in 1978 and then to China in 1990 to keep labor costs down. The “Asahi” name and “AOCo” logo was removed from the pentaprism cover to de-emphasize the company name in keeping with the rest of the “Pentax” line.
  • Known for its longevity the K1000 sold over 3 million units. Many are still in use.
6 thoughts on “An Anniversary, A Doll, And Another New Old Camera”

Leave a Reply

