There Is No Normal… Only Change

There are times I really hate it when something changes. For instance not to long ago Zazzle made some big changes that required me to re-create a ton of little icons for the Variety Store. I am still a long way from being done with that one.

Why can’t they just leave well enough alone and stick to normal?

I’m sure you noticed that I changed the way the blog looks. It’s old normal self was getting boring to look at day after day. It really needed a change. And WP makes some changes very easy; just a few clicks of a button and a quick upload of some newly created icons and you’re done.

Nice. I like this new normal much better. At least for now.

Yesterday I logged into KKHPhotos.com with the intention of uploading one simple image. Instead of the normal page I usually see there was a big ol’ pop-up telling me about some updates.

site makeover 1

Great. More change.

At first I wasn’t going to do anything about it. I was just going to stick to the same ol’ same ol’ normal stuff.

Then I got to looking at some examples of what other’s had done with the new updates.

Ok; that’s pretty cool!

I spent the rest of the day changing the way my photography site looks. The menu is different, the home page is different, there’s a new full screen slideshow, the gallery pages look fresh, and the individual photo pages are even better. Somehow it all seems a bit less cluttered now. [I never did get that image uploaded.]

Great! More change! This one I like.

site makeover 3site makeover 2

“This is your time and it feels normal to you, but really, there is no normal. There’s only change and resistance to it and then more change.”

~Meryl Streep, Barnard Commencement Speech, 2010

3 thoughts on “There Is No Normal… Only Change”

  1. Zazzle change threw me for a loop until I got used to it. Now I’m afraid to look at Zenfolio – LOL. Will do it when I am ready (and have the time) to tackle it. Cue the song “Changes” by David Bowie.

  2. It wasn’t bad. They just added some new things like the full screen slide show. Nice stuff; and optional. None of this “we’re doing it and there’s nothing you can do about it”. They’ve added a new product too… Books!!! I haven’t looked at that yet. Could be fun.

Leave a Reply

