Let Sleeping Dogs Lie – Really; Just Let Them Alone

I had this great idea the other day.

I thought that since L and M and their “boys” were here I’d have a cute little doggie photo shot.

Me and my bright ideas.

I know that the best way to do something like taking photos of four dogs at the same time would be to do it outdoors; preferably in a nice big fenced in yard so they can just run and play while I shoot. (best done from a distance with a nice long and fast lens)

Well; not having a big fenced in yard, or any doggie friendly fenced in area in town, I decide I’m going to take photos of all four dogs in my tiny living room. (wide angle and close up)

Needless to say once I sat down on the floor with “the pack” I was doomed.

Right away, upon noticing the camera, Bella dog thought that the lens needed a good cleaning. She ran right over and took care of that for me.

blogIMG_5097

After a good lens cleaning, this time by me instead of Bella. I tried again.

So How do you get four dogs to look the same way at the same time? Have someone hold a treat. Ok; so they look at the treat and not the camera. Note to self; have the person with the treat behind you and at the same level as the camera. 😀

blogIMG_5048

Something to keep in mind if you should sit on the floor with four dogs… they have no concept of personal space.

blogIMG_5083

They seemed more interested in running and playing tug-o-war than posing anyway. And again… the personal space issue… honestly did they not see me sitting down there?

blogIMG_5060

Oh; no thank you Balto. my lens is now clean enough.

blogIMG_5099

Once in a while, just like K and L would do when they were little, the dogs seemed to make faces at the camera. I’m not sure what this look was but I think Bosco didn’t want his picture taken.

blogIMG_5178

Sometimes even though they would practically be in my lap they seemed to be pretending not to see me. Bella… look this way!

blogIMG_5234

Hey Pablo. I know, that you know, I am right here. You are not fooling anyone.

blogIMG_5264

After the lens had been thoroughly licked clean, the treats all eaten, the rope sufficiently tugged, and all four pups worn out… I managed to get a couple of shots.

Little Pablo’s best photo of the day was while he settled down on L’s lap for a much needed nap; after all chasing after all those big dogs tuckers out a little guy.

Pablo blogIMG_5270

Bella settled into her chair for a rest while still keeping an eye on the young pups.

Bella blogIMG_5259

Bosco finally decided that maybe one picture before nap time would be OK; as long as he could take his nap snuggled up against me. What a teddy bear this big guy is.

Bosco blogIMG_5133

And the youngest of all, Balto, just couldn’t stay awake any longer.

Balto blogIMG_5250

Whoever, or is it whomever, said “Let sleeping dogs lie.” must have been a professional pet photographer.

Leave a Reply

