Creepy Crawlers And Heebie Jeebies

Don’t all of those little creepy crawlers just give you the heebie jeebies?

No; I’m not talking about the toy that lets kids make slimy little bugs and such. I’m talking about the real creepy crawlers, those nasty ugly bugs, especially roaches. YUCK!

What is it about them that creeps us out? After all they are so small we could just step on them; no big deal.

Most of them are small.

But some are a bit bigger than others; like the Madagascar Hissing Cockroaches at the Topeka Zoo.

I thought that those orangutans, in their dimly lit indoor area, behind the thick glass posed a bit of a challenge to shoot. Well shooting insects in glass aquariums and/or terrariums have all those challenges and more. The weather was cool that day so the glass on these warm moist little environments was pretty steamy; and they are dark little areas too. After all I think that’s what most creepy crawlers like… warm, damp, and dark.

To read a few basic tips on capturing photos of animals through glass check out my post; Do As I Say…Not As I Did from a few days ago. The added difficulties of the insect zoo are the steamy glass and dark room. You need to focus your lens past that steamy drippy glass and onto your subject [unless you want to include the steamy glass in your image]; and you need a good slow shutter to let in what light is available.

1/12 - f/4.0 - ISO 400 - 55mm - 3/23/2014
1/12 – f/4.0 – ISO 400 – 55mm – 3/23/2014

I didn’t take my tripod to the zoo with me and, although sometimes I do, I hadn’t carried my monopod along this day either. That meant everything I shot, including these creepy guys, was done hand held.

Now that’s a challenge! [At least it is for me!] Holding a heavy 55mm – 250mm zoom steady with shutter settings like 1/12 and 1/8.

1/8 - f/5.0 - ISO 400 - 135mm - 3/23/2014
1/8 – f/5.0 – ISO 400 – 135mm – 3/23/2014

But I guess I didn’t do to badly. You can tell that these are nasty, ugly, creepy, crawly, roaches; can’t you?

Oh, and Thank You Topeka Zoo, for the extra creepy factor of the “watch for hitchhikers” sign at the exit from the insect zoo. I didn’t really need to have the feeling that there could be a creepy crawler or two catching a ride to the next exhibit.

Leave a Reply

