photographing fireworks photography firework photos night

Fireworks 2014

I’m sure you are all about tired of everyone sharing their fireworks photos but I just have to join in.

Here’s a few of my favorite shots from the fireworks show that our little town put on. They had a nice show this year; just a bit too short.

fireworks photography firework photos night
1.0 – f/18 – ISO 200 – 45mm
contrast adjusted to darken the sky

I made a couple of little changes in my settings this year and used an aperture that was a bit narrower than I’ve used in the past; f/13 to f/18 for the most part. I also experimented with a little longer focal length and shot from my usual 28mm to around 45mm. The later filling the frame nicely at times.

 

photography photos photographing fireworks firework night
1.0 – f/18 – ISO 200 – 40mm
contrast adjusted to darken the sky

We had a few good breezes blow across the show and the slight wind helped to create some neat effects with some of the fireworks and smoke. I didn’t try to create any special effects myself; sticking mostly with a shutter speed of about 1 second. [I did take a few just a bit longer but not much.]

firework photos fireworks photography night
1.0 – f/18 – ISO 200 – 45mm
contrast adjusted to darken the sky

The only post-processing I did once I had the images on the computer was to adjust the contrast and overall brightness to make the sky appear darker than it actually was. Oh; and a little cropping on some.

photographing fireworks firework photos photography night
1.0 – f/18 – ISO 200 – 32mm
contrast adjusted to darken the sky

I took almost 130 shots during the short show and have decided to keep about 36 of them. I’ve uploaded those 36 to KKHPhotos.Com in the Fireworks 2014 gallery. Just click that little “slideshow” button and enjoy the view! I’m sure that I’ll play around with a few and create a composite or two before all is said and done.

firework fireworks photos photography night
1.0 – f/18 – ISO 200 – 45mm
contrast adjusted to darken the sky

Hope you all had a great 4th and be sure to share the link to your fireworks photos in the comments below.


Click on the images above to see a larger view, order prints,
or download photos.

One thought on “Fireworks 2014”

Leave a Reply

