Gage Park Topeka Kansas fish pond

A Walk In The Park And A Fly By Beating

On my last visit to Topeka I was able to sneak away for a couple of hours and take a walk in Gage Park. This park is a great place to take the camera; with the rose garden, ponds, carousel, flowers everywhere, the mini train, playgrounds, and the zoo there’s a lot to point your lens at.

gage park topeka kansas purple coneflower photos

I had taken the tripod along on this walk and found a nice shady spot under some thick vines to set it up. I pointed my lens at the rose garden where the sprinklers were running in hopes of capturing some of the falling water.

rose garden photography gage park topeka kansas

That didn’t go as planned.

It was only seconds after I sat down on the bench that I started hearing a bird. This guy was chirping away, flapping his wings, and making all kinds of noises. I thought to myself; “I wonder what’s got him so upset?” I didn’t bother to look around for the source of his discontent I just went about my business and took a couple of shots. All the while this bird was getting louder and louder and I kind of thought he might just be getting closer too.

rose photos gage park topeka kansas photography

Still I gave him very little thought.

Until I felt his wings against my head as he took a dive towards me! Now that’s enough to get your attention. I looked in the direction he had flown and here he came again  heading straight for me!

It was a fly by beating as he zoomed close enough for me to feel him in my hair again! A quick look up and I found the source of his discontent.

It was me.

I had sat directly under the nest!

“Ok; Daddy bird I can take a hint.”

Next time; I’ll look around a bit more before setting up the tripod!

red flowers by the pond gage park topeka kansas


Click on the images above to see a larger view, order prints, or download photos.


 

2 thoughts on “A Walk In The Park And A Fly By Beating”

Leave a Reply

