A First Look At Canon 430EX II Speedlite

Yesterday I posted a quick review of the Gisteq Flashmate II LED Macro Lighting System that I received as a Christmas gift. I also said that today I would tell you about another awesome gift from my hubby. In addition to the ring light, D gave me a Canon 430EX II Canon-430EX-II-Speedlite-FlashSpeedlite! Like I said; Santa was very good to me. 😀

Tonight I sat at my desk in the middle of the room and had a little fun just playing with this new flash. Now this room seems to be a normally lit room, a ceiling fixture with two compact florescent bulbs, a white ceiling, and white walls. [In desperate need of a fresh coat of paint but that’s a story for another day.] I aimed my Canon 7D at a shelf about 6 feet off the floor, hanging on a wall about 8 feet from my chair. This little test was an eye opener — I should have picked up this speedlite a long time ago!!!

I’ll let the resulting images speak for themselves…

1/200 - f/8 - ISO 200 - 105mm - No Flash
1/200 – f/8 – ISO 200 – 105mm – No Flash
1/200 - f/8 - ISO 200 - 105mm - Built In Pop-Up Flash Fired
1/200 – f/8 – ISO 200 – 105mm – Built In Pop-Up Flash Fired
1/200 - f/8 - ISO 200 - 105mm - 430EX II Speedlite at full power aimed straight up and bounced off the ceiling
1/200 – f/8 – ISO 200 – 105mm – 430EX II Speedlite at full power aimed straight up and bounced off the ceiling

 

1/200 - f/8 - ISO 200 - 105mm - 430EX II Speedlite at full power aimed straight forward
1/200 – f/8 – ISO 200 – 105mm – 430EX II Speedlite at full power aimed straight forward

 

1/200 - f/8 - ISO 200 - 105mm - 430EX II Speedlite at full power aimed straight backwards and bounced off the wall about 9 feet behind me
1/200 – f/8 – ISO 200 – 105mm – 430EX II Speedlite at full power aimed straight backwards and bounced off the wall about 9 feet behind me
1/200 - f/8 - ISO 200 - 105mm - 430EX II Speedlite at full power off camera triggered wirelessly
1/200 – f/8 – ISO 200 – 105mm – 430EX II Speedlite at full power off camera triggered wirelessly

 

40EX II — Pros

  • quick recycle time
  • locks securely into the hot shoe
  • releases quickly
  • settings can be controlled through the camera menu system
  • feels solid but not too heavy
  • tilts and swivels smoothly and stays in place nicely
  • can be used off camera as a slave flash and triggered wirelessly with my 7D
  • improves white balance
  • seems to be easy to use
  • features full manual control
  • E-TTL II/ E-TTL/TTL metering

430EX II — Cons

  • a little noisy while zooming
  • runs on AA batteries so there may be a need to invest in rechargeables
  • on flash buttons are a bit hard to use [but it can easily be controlled through he camera menu]
  • I’m not finding a battery level indicator

Oh there’s so much new information to learn!!


 

Like the Facebook page to keep up
with what’s new at KKHPhotos.com!

Leave a Reply

