Baby Bumi

Last week D and I made a trip to our state capital again. We were there to visit K for his 26th birthday! Good times! Not only did we celebrate his birthday with family and friends we also got to stay for the weekend and spend Valentine’s Day with him as well. Lucky me; two Valentines for the day! 😀

One afternoon we got in a quick walk around the zoo.  It was about 2:30 in the afternoon, not usually the best time to capture zoo animals, but we did find the orangutan family out in their yard. The baby, whose name is Bumi and is just a few days shy of 2 years old, was having a great time rolling around in the grass.

1/200 - f/7.1 - ISO 200 - 84mm
1/200 – f/7.1 – ISO 200 – 84mm

I stood a ways back and had my lens pointed towards the glass viewing window at a pretty good angle. The momma orangutan saw D standing by the glass and brought the baby right up towards him for a better look. She then stood there and had a good look at D; posing for her own photo op with him while I spent my time capturing images of the baby.

1/200 - f/5.6 - ISO 200 - 84mm
1/200 – f/5.6 – ISO 200 – 84mm

The sun was shining pretty nicely on the glass and shooting at the

Baby Bumi straight out of the camera. Yes; these images needed a little help!
Baby Bumi straight out of the camera. Yes; these images needed a little help!

angle I was at seemed to enhance the tint in the glass. At first I thought my shots of baby Bumi were not going to be any good at all. They looked washed out and had a bit of a green/blue tint to them. I wasn’t very happy with them.

I spent a little time adjusting the color curves on the RAW files to hide the green/blue tint a little and tried to enhance the other colors a bit. I haven’t played around with curves a lot before so it was kind of fun. I definitely need more practice with that but I think these images finally turned out alight.

1/200 - f/5.6 - ISO 200 - 84mm
1/200 – f/5.6 – ISO 200 – 84mm

Hopefully I can get back out there and visit Bumi and his family again soon. They are such amazing creatures.


Click on the images above to see a larger view,
order prints, or download photos.

 

Leave a Reply

