Six Changes That Can Improve Your Photography Site

I spent some time over the weekend givingsitehomepage my photography site a little bit of a freshening up. Nothing to drastic just a few little things here and there. Before I made any changes I did a bit of catching up on a couple of episodes of The Grid with Scott Kelby and RC Concepcion. I picked up several tips from them about little changes that can really improve your site.

I may not have done everything they talked about but I have put many of their thoughts to work. I was even happy to discover that several of the tips they were sharing were things that I had already done! Whoo Hoo! Go Me! 😀 The tips I picked up from them that I didn’t do were things that I really don’t have a lot of control over. Oh; don’t get me wrong. Zenfolio is an awesome place to host your sitegroupspagesite and you can personalize it to the max. However there are a few tiny limitations and, well, there are things that I just don’t know how to do.  And then there’s the whole watermark debate; but we are not getting into that again.

I thought it would be a great idea to kick of the week by sharing some of those tips [or at least my understanding of them]. So here we go, listed in no particular order… 6 little changes that can really improve  your photography site.

  1. Use a white background to keep the site clean and allow your images to stand on their own.
  2. Use large images as much as you can so that your visitor can clearly see your work. If you must use a thumbnail make it as large of a thumbnail as you can.
  3. Stop the self running slide shows. Allow the viewer to control the speed at which he browses those first few images on your home page.sitefireworkspage
  4. Remove unnecessary text from the home page. Instead of talking about your work; let your work talk for itself.
  5. Use small logos that won’t distract from the images on the page.
  6. Change, update, and refresh the site content every now and then. Give them something new to look at so they will have a reason to come back.

Oh and by the way. After you visit my newly freshened up site come back and let me know how you like it in the comments.


Let Zenfolio host your photos.
Use referral code CV6-ZGB-B5M to save!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Six Changes That Can Improve Your Photography Site”

  1. Thanks for taking a look T! For me I don’t mind the bigger pictures so much but I do think they make the page a little on the bright side. Let me know if you put any of these ideas to work! 😀

Leave a Reply

