A Quick Visit To Gage Park

When I am in Topeka I try to make at least one trip to Gage Park. Sometimes it’s to visit the zoo and sometimes it’s to walk around the rose garden,  or visit one of the ponds.trees_gage_park_topeka_kansas_IMG_7816

On my last visit I thought I was getting there before the heat got to bad. After all it was 9:00 in the morning! However I was wrong. It was already HOT when I got there.

I don’t think I was the only one who thought they could beat the heat. I saw another photographer shooting what looked like senior portraits for a couple of girls who had chosen fall clothing with long sleeves, long pants, boots, long skirts, and even a sweater! At least the photographer was prepared for the day dressed in his tank-top, shorts, and flip-flops.white_rose_gage_park_topeka_kansas_IMG_7823

I did manage a walk around two of the ponds and a quick stroll through the rose garden before I had had enough of the summer weather. A brief stop a Sonic for a lime-aide and I headed back into the air-conditioning for the rest of the morning.

I will be very happy when fall weather finds us again!black_eyed_susans_flowers_gage_park_topeka_kansas_IMG_7808


Click on the images above to see a larger view,
order prints, or download photos.

Leave a Reply

